My Beach Reading List

Books I Read When Not Wiping Out

When not wiping out, I read some good books at the beach.

I spent the first two weeks of July on Ocracoke Island, part vacation and part book writing retreat.

I always read a ton when I’m on vacation and this trip was no different.  I love my job, so I always read a mix of nonfiction that is at least tangentially related to nonprofit marketing, along with some pure pleasure reads too.

Here’s what I read . . .

The Business

The End of Fundraising: Raise More Money by Selling Your Impact. I found this one very interesting, and will probably quote parts of it in my book. It talks about marketing your organization to whom Jason Saul calls “psychic donors” — the people who give based on emotional responses to your cause, or what we would consider traditional fundraising tactics — versus marketing to “impact buyers” — organizations that benefit from the work that your nonprofit does and can therefore make a business decision to invest in your work. Saul’s criticisms of how nonprofits screw up when they confuse the two is really compelling.

Steal Like an Artist: 10 Things Nobody Told You About Being Creative. Nice little inspirational pick-me-up with some good reminders about nourishing your creativity. Trying to implement a few of the tips.

Managing Content Marketing: The Real-World Guide for Creating Passionate Subscribers to Your Brand. Joe Pulizzi is Mr. Content Marketing in the business world, and since I’m writing a book about it for nonprofits, I wanted to see how he approached it and what might translate and what wouldn’t, to our sector. All of the business content marketing books, including this one, are all about lead generation and sales, and the goals in the nonprofit world are a bit more complicated and diverse than that. I do think some of the process and team advice will translate.

Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World. The subtitle is A Step by Step Guide for Anyone with Something to Say or Sell and it’s full of lots of great tactical advice for online marketing. Great book for newbies; those of you with more experience may pick up a few tips here and there, like I did. It does read like a series of blog posts, which reminded me that while I am blogging a lot of my book as I go, I need to spend a lot of time pulling it all together so it makes sense and reads as a book.

Situations Matter: Understanding How Context Transforms Your World. Still reading this, but really enjoying it. Important lessons for all communicators on how your relevance or irrelevance, and whether your messaging works or not, are very dependent on the context.

The Pleasure

Every Last One. I love Anna Quindlen, and this was another great, albeit devastating, story from her. Was in a funk for 24 hours after reading it though. Recommend, but not during happy family vacation time.

Truth and Beauty: A Friendship.  I just recently discovered Ann Patchett when State of Wonder came out, and I love her style. Enjoyed this memoir about her friendship with Lucy Grealy. For you writers, I also really liked her other memoir, The Getaway Car: A Practical Memoir About Writing and Life (Kindle Single).

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir). I saw the line “For fans of Tiny Fey and David Sedaris” on the review, and bought it without reading another word. Jenny Lawson is The Bloggess. If you are sensitive about language, this is NOT the book for you (one peek at her blog will give you a sense for the book). Still reading, but so far it’s hilarious.

Got any good book recommendations to share in the comments?

This post includes Amazon affiliate links.

Share This Post On
  • Lswayze

    Hi Kivi.  I love your recommendations, especially Truth and Beauty.  I have loved that book for a while, and not many people know about it.  Lucy Grealy’s Autobiography of a Face is also great.  Glad you enjoyed Ocracoke – it’s a favorite spot for our family as well.  

    • Kivi Leroux Miller

      Yeah, I think I want to read Autobiography of a Face to see the story from her side.

  • Annmarie

    A great book recommendation is Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.  Suspenseful until the end.

  • Sandy

    Good grief!  I thought I read a lot.  That’s an impressive list for a week! 

    I read “Enchantment” by Guy Kawasaki recently and it was great to get me thinking about how to talk about an organization’s work in a way that enchants the listener.  Good food for thought.

    Sandy Rees

    • Kivi Leroux Miller

      It was over two weeks. :)

  • Kris

    Kivi, I love Anna Quindlen and Ann Patchett also. Have you read Run by AP and Rise and Shine by AQ??

    Really appreciate your professional reading recommendations.

    • Kivi Leroux Miller

      Yes, liked Run a lot. Rise and Shine was good too, but I think I like some others better.

  • Britt Bravo

    I just finished What’s Mine is Yours: The Rise of Collaborative Consumption: Inspiring.

  • Cheryl

    Excited to see Platform on your list. I just bought it and will now make a point of cracking it open this weekend.

  • AJ

    I’ve grown to like Ann Patchett this summer as well- I recently read both State of Wonder and The Magician’s Assistant and loved both! Also just read Situations Matter and loved it- thanks for all the great recommendations! Particularly looking forward to The End of Fundraising :)

  • fiverrr23Jz

    I really liked your article.Much thanks again. Keep writing.

  • Get the facts

    I just want to tell you that I’m beginner to blogging and site-building and truly enjoyed you’re blog. Most likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You surely have very good article content. Thank you for sharing your web-site.

  • automobile paint

    Good site! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified when a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your feed which must do the trick! Have a great day!

  • Bonita Rakestrow

    Just want to say your article is as astounding. The clarity in your post is just great and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

  • kitchen design software

    Hey there, You’ve done a great job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this website.

  • Pingback: Brian Lock Agency()

  • check post

    Sorry for the huge review, but I’m really loving the new Zune, and hope this, as well as the excellent reviews some other people have written, will help you decide if it’s the right choice for you.

  • true fitness

    I relish, result in I discovered exactly what I used to be looking for. You’ve ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  • good info

    I was very pleased to discover this page. I wanted to thank you for ones time due to this wonderful read!! I definitely savored every little bit of it and I have you saved to fav to see new things on your web site.

  • like this

    Hi there! I just would like to give you a big thumbs up for your excellent info you’ve got right here on this post. I’ll be coming back to your website for more soon.

  • great link

    Zune and iPod: Most people compare the Zune to the Touch, but after seeing how slim and surprisingly small and light it is, I consider it to be a rather unique hybrid that combines qualities of both the Touch and the Nano. It’s very colorful and lovely OLED screen is slightly smaller than the touch screen, but the player itself feels quite a bit smaller and lighter. It weighs about 2/3 as much, and is noticeably smaller in width and height, while being just a hair thicker.

  • full article

    Very good write-up. I certainly love this website. Thanks!

  • check content

    The new Zune browser is surprisingly good, but not as good as the iPod’s. It works well, but isn’t as fast as Safari, and has a clunkier interface. If you occasionally plan on using the web browser that’s not an issue, but if you’re planning to browse the web alot from your PMP then the iPod’s larger screen and better browser may be important.

  • find out here

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I do think that you ought to write more about this issue, it may not be a taboo subject but typically folks don’t talk about these subjects. To the next! All the best!!

  • go to link

    Spot on with this write-up, I really feel this web site needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the info!

  • informative post

    This is getting a bit more subjective, but I much prefer the Zune Marketplace. The interface is colorful, has more flair, and some cool features like ‘Mixview’ that let you quickly see related albums, songs, or other users related to what you’re listening to. Clicking on one of those will center on that item, and another set of “neighbors” will come into view, allowing you to navigate around exploring by similar artists, songs, or users. Speaking of users, the Zune “Social” is also great fun, letting you find others with shared tastes and becoming friends with them. You then can listen to a playlist created based on an amalgamation of what all your friends are listening to, which is also enjoyable. Those concerned with privacy will be relieved to know you can prevent the public from seeing your personal listening habits if you so choose.

  • check article

    Between me and my husband we’ve owned more MP3 players over the years than I can count, including Sansas, iRivers, iPods (classic & touch), the Ibiza Rhapsody, etc. But, the last few years I’ve settled down to one line of players. Why? Because I was happy to discover how well-designed and fun to use the underappreciated (and widely mocked) Zunes are.

  • Daniell Bali

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog. A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.

  • check this site out

    Apple now has Rhapsody as an app, which is a great start, but it is currently hampered by the inability to store locally on your iPod, and has a dismal 64kbps bit rate. If this changes, then it will somewhat negate this advantage for the Zune, but the 10 songs per month will still be a big plus in Zune Pass’ favor.

  • bedside tables

    I simply could not go away your site prior to suggesting that I extremely loved the standard information a person provide to your guests? Is gonna be again frequently in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  • get redirected here

    Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude!

  • go to this website

    Apple now has Rhapsody as an app, which is a great start, but it is currently hampered by the inability to store locally on your iPod, and has a dismal 64kbps bit rate. If this changes, then it will somewhat negate this advantage for the Zune, but the 10 songs per month will still be a big plus in Zune Pass’ favor.